jump to navigation

The joy of being wrong May 13, 2008

Posted by David Gillespie in digital strategy, web 2.0.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

Some people have a love-hate relationship with their own fallibility. Not me. I revel in it.  I was talking earlier today about widening the range of ideas you let in to your head so as to stimulate your own thinking from a different perspective.

I was thinking about this a bit more today after posting over at the Marketing Magazine forums on the subject of being wrong in a digital space. We should be embracing the rapid pace at which everything is changing; every error, every out and out mistake is a lesson learned and a rule formed in a space where so few exist.

I wrote at the beginning of the year I was spending more time thinking about what was least wrong as opposed to most right. Semantics sure, but the point is we don’t know right now, and nor should we. If everyone could for just one day check their egos at the door and revel in the fact we’re still figuring this out, we’d get a lot more done.

Image from Paul Arden’s It’s not how good you are… – found via Andrew Cafourek’s Tumblog.

Comments»

1. More on being wrong… « Wide Open Spaces - May 20, 2008

[…] which I picked up reading a great blog Stu put me onto, Indie Breakfast Club. I’ve been thinking and writing a lot lately about being wrong, great to see I’m not […]

2. On the mic with Mike « Creative Is Not A Department - September 5, 2008

[…] built up in a desperate attempt to avoid the inevitable (that is, find ourselves in the wrong). I wrote quite a bit earlier this year on embracing the times when we’re wrong and encouraging the right kinds of mistakes in […]

3. Dogma 2.0 - The rules are there ain’t no rules « Creative Is Not A Department - October 4, 2008

[…] re-think a few things. I’ve written in the past about not necessarily being right, just being least wrong. It is almost impossible to talk in absolutes these days – in Borders 2.0 I said the lines […]

4. Being DESIGNful… « Creative Is Not A Department - February 24, 2009

[…] done. It’s certainly touching on some things I’ve thought previously, particularly being willing to be wrong, but I cna hardly say I like the parts of the book that agree with me now can […]

5. School of Thinking » Blog Archive » On the mic with Mike - September 8, 2012

[…] built up in a desperate attempt to avoid the inevitable (that is, find ourselves in the wrong). I wrote quite a bit earlier this year on embracing the times when we’re wrong and encouraging the right kinds of mistakes in others, […]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

