jump to navigation

Facebook: Do Not Want revisited May 30, 2008

Posted by David Gillespie in web 2.0, work/life.
Tags: , ,
trackback

A while back I took Facebook to task for constantly displaying ads telling me how I could meet women.

Just break up?

So I engaged in a bit of profile altering in order to see how Facebook changed the kinds of ads it displayed. Now that my profile shows I am in a relationship, Facebook has gone from showing me how I can meet women to displaying ads on leasing cars and hangover cures.

Because obviously now that I am in a relationship I have turned to hard living in an effort to self-destruct (as this is easier than actually going through a break-up). Switching to married gives me…go-karting. And an offer to complete market research surveys. Microsoft paid how much to be able to serve Facebook’s ads?

Now I’m on It’s complicated, seems to be serving me ads for a swinger’s club. Trouble in your relationship? Why not restore the trust and dedication you so sorely need by…hooking up with complete strangers.

I’m back to being single now, which feels about right. Of course the rawest example I’ve seen of Facebook’s ad serving hitting the nail on the head is this example from Charlie O’Donnell’s blog earlier this year. Fresh out of a relationship, wound still gaping wide, Facebook delivered this gem:

Comments»

1. Matt - May 30, 2008

I F’ing love it!

2. David Gillespie - May 30, 2008

Certainly made me smile. I imagine it’ll make Charlie smile one day too, though maybe not just yet…


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

