jump to navigation

Sisters are doin’ it for themselves June 20, 2008

Posted by David Gillespie in branding, work/life.
Tags: ,
trackback

The women going to work!Driving to work this morning I snapped this pic. I realise its not a great one, blame Blackberry not me (as a complete aside, how do you manage to put a measly 1.3 megapixel camera in your phone guys? Honestly! But when you’re capable of stuff like this, a lousy camera should be of no surprise…). Anyway…the car in front was advertising a female house-painting service called Women @ Work Painting. “98.5% testosterone free” apparently – whether they’re being cute or that is level of testosterone in the average woman I don’t know.

The service was apparently born out of bad experiences with trades people, they promise four things:

  • turn up on time
  • work on consecutive days
  • complete job by the due date
  • clean up after ourselves

This may be a generational thing, but I don’t give myself over to gender stereotypes. If they can actually guarantee that level of service, if any business could guarantee that level of service, then they would have me as a customer. I should add I don’t quite get the “work on consecutive days” part, I can only assume other tradies out there will spread jobs out and work on multiple houses at once, frustrating the clients they have in some cases.

The only thing I’m thinking on top of this though is if a business went around branding itself as “98.5% estrogen free”, I don’t know how well that would play…reminds me of a billboard I saw a couple years back, a massive rare steak on a plate and a tagline: Brisbane’s worst vegetarian restaurant.

Comments»

1. Oolong - June 20, 2008

I was so taken by a Ute on the way to work about 3 mths ago I took a photo of it as well (on my 2 megapixel phone camera) “Real Aussie Chicks Wear Boots and Drive Utes”. “Real Aussie Chick” also had mini-stuffed toy Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles on her front antenna, and yes, it was a HUGE ute…more like a Jeep than a Falcon/Holden.

So maybe, Real Aussie Chicks have more testosterone than you think? Or am I being sexist? Oooohhhhhh…..

2. David Gillespie - June 20, 2008

That’s hilarious, do you recall which Turtle it was? She definitely sounds like a Michaelangelo fan, although Raphael could sneak in there too.

Does leave me wondering if I’ve been dating “artificial” Australian women given none of them (so far) have driven utes. Still…something to aspire to I suppose…

3. Oolong - June 23, 2008

all 4 turtles were sliding down (or climbing up?) the antenna.

That would be a great aspiration- driving down to Franger and looking for the 1st 14 year old peroxide white blonde with a pram, wearing addidas trekkies stuffed into uggs…packing herself and her offspring into a giant ute…love at first sight!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

