jump to navigation

You can’t recline with a laptop (yet) June 21, 2008

Posted by David Gillespie in marketing.
trackback

This is a brief sojourn from an otherwise blog-free weekend. I have both The Age and The Australian here, plenty of coffee, but all the stuff I want to read is online. Umair Haque’s proposal for new forms of media, Mark Earl’s look at EMI and how the record business is just gambling, even the five months of Penny Arcade I have sitting in my reader. But I’m sick of staring at a screen, hunched over and negotiating with a format that doesn’t allow me to lie horizontal on a Saturday when I’ve sat upright and alert for 60 hours during the week.

Yes I know there are bigger problems in the world, but I’m talking about the wealth of information that is available and making it easier to consume, something that benefits everyone. That can be a better written article, but it can just as easily be a more manageable medium.

Image courtesy of aloshbennet, with thanks to compfight.
Comments»

1. Zac Martin - June 21, 2008

Perhaps you need something like the Amazon Kindle?

2. David Gillespie - June 22, 2008

Hey Zac,

The idea of the Kindle certainly appeals, but the reviews I’ve seen around usability (particularly about how people hold the device) haven’t set my heart racing.

I want a light-weight screen no heavier or thicker than a newspaper that allows me to recline, with a touch-screen interface, hooked up to my wireless internet connection…that doesn’t sound so hard does it? =]

3. Marketing Triple J: 21st Century Strategy for a Radio Station » Zakazukha Zoo Online Marketing Blog - July 29, 2008

[…] that train/bus/plane. I’m willing to be wrong about this, but I’m pretty certain I’m right. Others agree with […]

4. Marketing Triple J: 21st Century Communication Strategies for Radio | e-CBD Blog - January 12, 2012

[…] that train/bus/plane. I’m willing to be wrong about this, but I’m pretty certain I’m right. Others agree with […]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

