jump to navigation

Postcards from the edge January 5, 2009

Posted by David Gillespie in blogging, work/life.
trackback

I think this is what they call coming up for air.

So it’s a little less than -10 outside, though the sky is blue and I am warm as I sit banging away on the keyboard from Cafe Latte, a cute little coffee shop run by an old Italian couple who emigrated a long time ago to teach sociology (him) and engineering (her) at a university in Edmonton. Funny how things work out.

In the rush to get off the island, I missed a few things which I need to rectify. I wanted to thank Julian Cole for a great time in Sydney, and for being the fine human being that he is. Scott Drummond who is one of my best friends and biggest sources of inspiration, because of rather than inspite of his incredible fro. Also the man who is primarily responsible for this little site of mine, Simon Chen, someone who was endlessly encouraging of my meager efforts in the space and who taught me a valuable lesson; that it was almost impossible to be too opinionated.

As I move from the Australian marketing community and start to ingratiate myself with the Canadian one, I’m noticing a few things as I walk around town:

  • Western culture is western culture.
  • It’s remarkable how different things aren’t.
  • It’s not the thinking that is lagging in Australia, it is the clients (who are slowly but surely catching up anyway)
  • The world over the problems are the same, we just pronounce the words differently.

I’m enjoying having the time to breathe right now, it’s something I didn’t do enough last year, though it’s possible I was just waiting on the right air to breathe in. In the words of the great philosopher F. Bueller, “Life moves pretty fast. If you don’t stop and look around once in a while, you could miss it.”

Happy new year everyone.

Break’s over.

Comments»

1. acafourek - January 5, 2009

David, Welcome to the continent! Interesting that just this morning I was complaining about work and had to give myself a “Break’s over” lecture and then I see your nice reminder of that.

So: Break’s over; See you on the other side.

-ac

2. Matt Granfield - January 5, 2009

I thought we weren’t going to hear from you again! Welcome back!

3. Jeremy - January 7, 2009

A nice post to open with for the new year my friend. I love the fact you have already befriended your new barista and have their life story, i can see you sitting there all ears listening to the broken English spoken by this old Italian man. Touching

4. Alex - January 7, 2009

Howdy partner.

Good to hear from you, I can’t believe we haven’t talked. I’m guessing the SMS’s I’ve sent you went into the ether.

Anyway, keep your nipple covers on to prevent them freezing over. Chat soon.

5. Julian Cole - January 7, 2009

Hey Mr. Gillespie, good to hear from you. It was a shame that we didnt not get to say our soppy goodbyes. How good is that Feris quote, it is great. I really find you only get that time to stop when you are on holidays.

David you were right about everything too. I devote my last post to you my friend. ; )

6. Tim - January 7, 2009

Hey man – good to hear you’re safe and sound. I was beginning to wonder!

7. Gavin Heaton - January 8, 2009

Was wondering whether you had been iced in! Hope 2009 is an exciting and challenging year for you ;)

8. scotlanddrummond - January 9, 2009

Hello old friend :-)

How’s things going over there in the T-Dot? It sounds like you’re doing well. Life here in Oz progresses in much the same way as before, only there’s a giant Gillespie-shaped hole in my life now, which I am only managing to fill with foosball and the latest awesome Jay Z mashup album – seriously, download and enjoy – http://snurl.com/9o6ie

Keep on trucking skipper, and we’ll chat soon.

Peace brother,

Scotland

9. RaiulBaztepo - March 28, 2009

Hello!
Very Interesting post! Thank you for such interesting resource!
PS: Sorry for my bad english, I’v just started to learn this language ;)
See you!
Your, Raiul Baztepo

10. PiterKokoniz - April 7, 2009

Hello !! ;)
I am Piter Kokoniz. Just want to tell, that your blog is really cool
And want to ask you: will you continue to post in this blog in future?
Sorry for my bad english:)
Thank you!
Piter.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

