jump to navigation

Give me gin & tonic March 13, 2009

Posted by David Gillespie in branding, storytelling, work/life.
trackback
A Most Unusual Gin...

A Most Unusual Gin...

I’m not a big spirits guy, but I love gin. My favourite, Hendrick’s, is by it’s own admission “Not for everybody.” This little booklet that comes attached to every bottle I adore. It is of course sperfluous to the gin, but extends the brand beyond a drink. You could argue it shouldn’t be about more than the contents of the bottle, but that wouldn’t help explain why Coke’s market cap is valued at only $60 billion in assets, but $120 billion when you take brand into account (thank you The Brand Gap).

Hendrick’s also back it up with a great product site, which moves over into something a bit more experiential with The Unusual Times.

I love this because:

  • I already dig gin, so I’m predisposed and biased
  • It doesn’t take itself seriously, therefore digs into Mr. Ries’ law of candour
  • It makes itself a social object, and larger than the drink
  • Like the Nike’s and Apples of the world, it loves something above its product, in this case the peculiar, and expresses that in the form of a drink the Wall Street Journal named “Best Gin in the world” in 2003
  • The story around the drink makes it tribal and is a clear distinction between those who drink Hendrick’s and those who ask for Tanqueray or Bombay Sapphire. That connectedness is crucial in this day and age.

I think it’s about G&T time…happy weekend everybody.

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
Comments»

1. Andrew Cafourek - March 13, 2009

Like I wasn’t eagerly awaiting the weekend already… now Im ready for a gin or 4!

2. Jeremy - March 15, 2009

No mention of Absolut? They certainly do a magnificent job when discussing the notion of branding. My two cents.

3. David Gillespie - March 19, 2009

I like Absolut, though I think they jumped the shark with Absolut Kravitz. Their new campaign (In an Absolut world) is a nice twist on the same theme.

Absolut though makes a play for cool, whereas Hendrick’s makes a play for “not cool”.

Which I, of course, find stupendously cool :)

4. shiva - February 17, 2010

The only gin I tried was New Amsterdam. It’s 80 proof, but it’s delicious. It’s pretty affordable too, and it’s good.

If you are a gin fan, try it out.

5. Ino - May 3, 2010

I love Hendricks, but I can’t help but laugh when they brand it as exclusive when these days you can basically find it in most bars (not that I’m complaining of course!)!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

