jump to navigation

Up where we belong March 30, 2009

Posted by David Gillespie in creativity, digital strategy.
trackback

Since the demise of social media (in my head) I’ve been struggling to get excited about something again. I was sitting thinking about opportunities for a client this morning, and I was reminded of the enthusiasm I talked about the potential of browsers with. This stems from a beautiful execution last year by Poke London on behalf of Orange called Balloonacy, which purported to be (and who is going to argue) the first Internet balloon race (I just noticed they won an award for it too, as it should be!).

The (thoroughly sexy) idea here is Balloonacy didn’t quite exist anywhere, rather it played out over the pages of people who took part, and, flying left to right over the screen you would land on new web pages when you went off the right-hand side. It was an app that didn’t require Facebook or an iPhone, it was a campaign that didn’t require a media buy. It was in fact an execution that could only have been done online, and there is so little work out there we can really say that about.

I don’t know if I’ll actually be able to get something in the browser off the ground for this client, let’s be honest there’s a barrier to entry, not to mention compatability issues, but in the same way processing is getting faster, the walls around technology are getting lower, which means more people participate, which means we get where we’re going faster than we did before.

As I said over at Socialized when the web was abuzz with Skittles nonsense, we’re all leveraging each other’s work, and getting there together.

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]

Comments»

1. jyesmith - March 30, 2009

Your desire to push further is really inspirational. Will always help out where I can.

2. David Gillespie - March 31, 2009

Mr. Smith, I appreciate that. And I have an idea I’ll be asking for help on very shortly!

3. Let’s push things forward « Creative Is Not A Department - April 2, 2009

[...] April 2, 2009 Posted by David Gillespie in advertising, technology. trackback While thinking about Balloonacy the other day, I watched a TED talk from Scott McLoud who has authored several books on comics. Scott, whose [...]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

