jump to navigation

This is the great adventure April 13, 2009

Posted by David Gillespie in branding, business strategy, conversation, creativity, storytelling.
trackback

Every time I play a gig, people ask me if I’m nervous, which I almost always am. And I think that is the way it is supposed to be – if I’m not nervous then nothing is at stake. If nothing is at stake then why am I here? What am I going to learn I don’t already know? What will the audience experience if I’m not pushing myself to some place I haven’t been before; if I know I’m not going to fall, there is simply no elation in flight.

Your friend and mine Sean Howard touches on these points in a recent post, The Scariest Thing I’ve ever Done. In it heleverages an eBook he published called The Passion Economy (rockstars Gavin Heaton and Katie Chatfield contribute as well). It’s a candid assessment of his work, and he’s honest about fis failings. More to the point though, he makes a case for purposefully putting yourself into those awkward and unknown territories. He’s preaching to the choir with me, and, I hope, you as well.

If he’s not, then why are you here?

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
Comments»

1. Sean Howard - April 24, 2009

Hey David,

Great post!

Looking forward to drinks. Maybe we should shift to having them somewhere we will be a bit more nervous? ;)

And what does a guy have to do to get on your gig email list notification thingie??? ;)

Sean

2. David Gillespie - May 15, 2009

Ahh yes the gig notifications…I do need to be better at those. Spending some time at http://davidgillespie.com will help though ;)


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

