jump to navigation

We off that October 5, 2009

Posted by David Gillespie in creativity, music, philosophy.
Tags: , ,
trackback

While looking at Katie Chatfield’s blog last night and thinking about the various ways I’d like to be like her when I grow up (I’m sure she’d say she’d like to be like her when she grows up too), I stumbled back across a post she’d made in May of this year on “done”. I liked it so much at the time I printed it out and stuck it on the glass door to my office, though I’m not sure anyone else got it (complete aside, taking the time to turn something in bits into atoms surely has to be the most you can like something, ever).

Re-blogged below for the sake of further cementing its awesome-ness, here it is in full:

Something I preach and rarely practice is the importance of just doing, and not waiting for perfect because perfect never happens. My musical self, all nerves and insecurity, decided to make good on threats to be less hypocritical, and found once it started it was actually fine and better than expected.

Done is the engine of more, and the important thing is to have done it, not talked about it. If Nike’s slogan had been “Just practice and be ready to do it at some point”, then odds are they wouldn’t be the rock star brand that they are.

The point of done is not to finish, but to get other things done. Amen.

(and we’re done!)

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
Comments»

1. Katie Chatfield - October 5, 2009

you made me smile on a grey Tuesday morning…thanks David.

I still don’t know what I want to be when I grow up…

but let’s have a look at a Think, Feel, Do structure for what that end state might look like:

I want to think that there are endless interesting avenues to explore
I want to feel that I’m making a positive difference
I want to do a daily practice that celebrates the amazing gift of life

It’s a work in progress….

2. Lauren Cassar - October 7, 2009

Here’s something funny…

Just yesterday morning, I said to Katie “I wish I had one of those brain neuron cables that would allow me to plug my brain directly into yours”.

Reading that you want to be Katie when you grow up gave me some relief that I’m not alone in my scary desire to be like her!

3. David Gillespie - October 7, 2009

No not at all. Mind you there’s lots of people I’d like to be when I grow up, and Optimus Prime is still one of them.

Given the chances are about equal of being him or Katie, I’m fairly excited about how things might turn out.

4. JASON WEARING MY NIKE BASEBALL CLEATS SZ 16 (With Sound) | Play Baseball - October 22, 2009

[…] We off that (davidgillespie.wordpress.com) Related Posts […]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

