jump to navigation

Tell the whole world the truth is back November 15, 2009

Posted by David Gillespie in intent, work/life.
Tags: , , , , ,
trackback
Doc Searls
Image via Wikipedia

I’ve spent the last couple years talking about intent in various guises. Sometimes related to marketing, sometimes to business, but always, always at the heart of what anyone is doing. It has become an intrinsic part of what I write about, as anyone who has been with me for a little while will attest.

In February 2008 I penned a piece looking at Facebook’s advertising ecosystem (things have changed dramatically since) and referenced a piece by your friend and mine Doc Searls on The Intention Economy. This phrase showed up again in a presentation I did called Digital Strangelove, and I realised just today, after stumbling across Doc referencing that presentation (tremendous honour and incredibly humbling) that despite spending a long time making sure the appropriate references were in place and credits given, I had not tipped my hat to Doc and his original article which clearly made an impression on me.

Thankfully the medium within which we work allows for easy retraction, correction and re-dissemination of correct information – if we choose to take advantage of it. I have updated my deck with a link to Doc’s original piece in the credits, and wanted to take the time to acknowledge the source of that phrase. Additional credit I can only add by stealing from Sir Isaac Newton: if I have seen further, it is by standing on the shoulders of giants.

Thanks Doc.

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
Comments»

1. ProjectVRM Blog » Intention Economy Traction - November 16, 2009

[...] Tell the whole world the truth is back « Creative Is Not A Department [...]

2. Doc Searls - November 16, 2009

Wow! Now I’m the humbled guy. What a kind and generous post.

Now that you point to it, I do remember your Facebook Advertising Ecosystem post, and I’m sorry I didn’t check back on it.

Thanks again for the kind words, and keep up the fabulous work.

Doc

3. David Gillespie - November 16, 2009

Best. Comment. Ever. :)


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

