jump to navigation

How you doing? May 1, 2008

Posted by David Gillespie in branding, philosophy, work/life.
Tags:
trackback

Ubiquitous, and usually flipped off without a moment’s notice, saying “How you doing?” to someone is usually met with a myriad of responses designed to elicit as little conversation on the subject as possible, largely because (I think) nobody really believes you’re interested in the answer.

Yesterday someone asked me how I was as I stood making coffee at work. “I’m really great, thanks!” was my response. The person in question turned to me a little incredulously and said “Really? Why?”.

“Do I need a reason?”

“To be really great? Yeah!”

How odd I thought, I could have sighed and said “Yeah…ok” and it probably would have been met with a knowing oh-we’re-at-work-aren’t-we glance. Being really great gave pause for thought, and reminded me of a bunch of stuff Seth has written on being exceptional. A mood is enough to stop people in their tracks, to capture their interest.

People want to be part of what is good, what is great, and what is exceptional. You attract others towards you through that attitude, and you attract consumers to your clients brands based on the aspirations they have. Instill the offering with something exceptional (and it can be as simply as being “really great”) and the rest will take care of itself.

…that’s probably over-simplifying, but the point stands.

Comments»

1. Matt - May 1, 2008

I believe Aristotle called it pathos and Dale Carnegie called it a smile. That’s probably over-simplifying, but the point stands 🙂 You should read ‘How to Win Friends and Influence People’ – I reckon Seth Godin has…


Leave a Reply

