jump to navigation

It doesn’t have to be anything June 5, 2008

Posted by David Gillespie in digital strategy, marketing, philosophy.
Tags: , ,
trackback

Brainstorming ideas for a clients impending product launch, a gun account manager (as in she’s great, she doesn’t manage a client who manufactures guns) and I came up with something that was largely experiential, nailed the target market, and delivered on the promise of the brand all in one. Good idea we said. Great idea we said.

It’s not digital we said – but does it have to be?

When I was thinking about the first column to write for Marketing Magazine, I kept coming back to this notion of what digital wasn’t as opposed to what it was. I canvassed a few opinions and was bemused by Iain Tait’s cryptic reply; “Digital is not a thing anymore.”

Some time after that, indeed quite recently, I suddenly realised what he meant. It reminded me of something Dr. Michael Hewitt-Gleeson had said to me a few months earlier: “The second you try to think outside the box, you’re disregarding a lot of really good, valid stuff.”

A good idea is a good idea, and as long as it delivers for your audience, and it doesn’t have to be anything else.

Image courtesy of NMCIL, with thanks to compfight.
Comments»

1. Calling Social Media Out « Creative Is Not A Department - November 13, 2008

[…] As Iain Tait said much more succinctly than I, digital is not a thing anymore. […]

2. Timmwardion - November 13, 2008

Nice post dude. I’m going to steal it because I’m a genius. I was saying this in a “Gen Y” meeting two days ago but much less good ‘n that.


Leave a Reply

