jump to navigation

Your kiss is on my list September 7, 2008

Posted by David Gillespie in branding, business strategy, marketing, work/life.
Tags:
trackback

They say a picture is worth a thousand words, this one requires just two.

Qantas booking process error

Qantas booking process error

Epic. Fail.

Some things to think about:

  • They probably mean they couldn’t find flights, but they don’t say that
  • They have the means to flag that while I am planning my trip (saving me time)
  • The error effectively ends my experience. No links elsewhere, it just dies.
  • If this was the last experience someone had with your brand, product or service, how would you feel?
  • If Qantas had some basic Google alerts setup, they’d know about this post just a couple seconds after I post it…we’ll find out if they do.
Comments»

1. Michelle Matthews - September 8, 2008

Here is a quirky way of treating the problem by a small local Melbourne business. When you know they care that you can’t find what you’re looking for then you at least feel like you’re in it together.

http://www.rentoid.com/404.html

2. mattgranfield - September 8, 2008

You are spot on, although they have put a bright red, underlined ‘Help’ link next to the error message…

3. David Gillespie - September 8, 2008

Michelle – love Rentoid’s solution, it is perfect for a small business, and the same idea could be carried through to a large scale enterprise.

Matt – I know I know, I should have flagged that. When you click Help it opens a pop-up window and shows you a mock-up of what is displayed on the page,a long with explanations of what’s what. Unfortunately for me, none of that was displayed – if it had been would have had to think of something else to write about today 🙂

4. Julian Cole - September 8, 2008

I love the rentoid picture, poor steve. I wish someone would compile the best error windows.

5. Matt - September 9, 2008

@Julian http://www.plinko.net/404/area404.asp

Error pages are a hugely important marketing tool though and right up my alley. I might blog about it soon… Meantime, check out the list above.


Leave a Reply

