jump to navigation

Isn’t she lovely September 11, 2008

Posted by David Gillespie in work/life.
Tags: ,
trackback

(I hate that song)

Forget the marketing crap. Today something much more important is going on – it’s my Mum’s birthday.

My mum had the unenviable task of raising three boys – four if you count my Dad (which you should). She is a big part of the inspiration behind the title of this blog, given that for years she has professed herself as not a creative woman, yet made sure none of us ever went hungry, broke or unloved – acts of miraculous creativity, particularly that last one given how much of a pain in the ass I was as a teenager. I don’t think there’s ever been an angrier young man with more immaculate hair.

She continues to be an incredible presence in all of her boy’s lives, as well as my biggest support and greatest fan. Were it not for her encouragement, I would never have had the strength to shed the work that goes on 9-5 and do something worthwhile with my spare time.

Awww my Mum

Here she is partying with me and my friends on a beach in Byron Bay this year.
It's about 2am. She rocks.

So, Mum, happy birthday. Thanks for everything, I’ll try not to let you down.

Love me xxx

Comments»

1. Matt - September 12, 2008

Oh Dave, you softie! I’ll second that though, your mum rocks – happy birthday Sue!

2. David Gillespie - September 12, 2008

Yes she does, she put us all to shame that weekend. She goes hard, we go home.

3. Borders 2.0 - The lines don’t run where we say they do « Creative Is Not A Department - September 22, 2008

[…] younger brother took it further: he couldn’t see the colour of another’s skin, instead telling Mum his best friend had curly hair, not that he was a young black boy from […]


Leave a Reply

