jump to navigation

Beersphere comes to Melbourne on Thursday, November 13th! November 9, 2008

Posted by David Gillespie in industry news, work/life.
Tags: ,
trackback

Your friend and mine, Faris Yakob decided to organise a get together in New York of Planners, social media folk, general riff-raff the kind of which your mother warned you about. Obviously we can’t all attend that gathering so instead November 13th is International Beersphere Day, where a gathering just like that goes on in your own backyard (if your backyard happens to be one of the places it is being organised.)

Those who call Melbourne their backyard should come along to Red Hummingbird, 246 Russell Street, just up from the corner of Lonsdale from 6:30pm. We’ll meet on the rooftop as I’m banking on the weather being lovely (currently predicted to be 29 degrees!), if you haven’t been there before you will see a red birdcageover the entrance.

My friend Tim will be there, as will a bunch of others whose blogs I do not know the addresses of. Wait I can probably steal them from Jules…here we go, I am pleased to offer an extra-special invite to:

Pigs Don’t Fly, I Hate Ads , Simon Says , The Gruen Transfer , ProBlogger, Brand DNA , The Wayfarer , PR Disasters , Pixel Paddock, In my atmosphereThe Zeitgeists, Current Issues in Marketing Strategy , FRANKthoughts, Wonderwebby , Marketing Today, Gen Y Marketing Podcast, Marketing Geek , Marketing Easy, A blog about digital media, The Body Shop Activist

…as well as anyone else who’d like to join. Pre-requisites for attending are a) you are not an asshat and b) you like alcohol.

If you’re not in Melbourne, take a look below to see if a gathering is happening near you, otherwise you can organise one! Get in touch with Faris or myself, we will steer you in the right direction.

View Map

The Date: Thursday November 13th 2008

[That’s next Thursday]

The places – well….

New York [with me]: Obivia, 201 Lafayette Street from 6pm. [Happy hour runs until 8pm and there should be some free Ketel One splashing about too. Don’t say I don’t look after you.] MAP.

London [with Rachel and Co]: Will meet 6.30pm onwards at the Commercial Tavern, 142-144 Commercial Street, London E1 6NU. We’ve got the upstairs bar. See you there! Details.

Toronto [with Jason and Dino]: 6:30pm The Bedford Academy, 36 Prince Arthur Avenue. [Featuring interpretive dance by Dino, and late evening partial nudity by Jason.]

Sydney [with Julian]: Sydney Beersphere at 6:30pm, at The KB, 26 Foveaux St, Surry Hills right next to Central Station so there is no excuse. Details.

Berlin: [with David]: Berlin Beersphere is from 7pm at PonyBar (alte schönhauser strasse 44 10119 berlin-mitte). MAP.

Boston: [with Conner and Gareth]: Bukowski’s @ 50 Dalton St, Boston, Map.

Shanghai, Brisbane, Bucharest also going to take part hopefully – will update you once I have details confirmed.

See you Thursday, call me on 0404078686 if you run into trouble. I look disturbingly like the guy in the Facebook link to the right of this post.

Oh, and drop me a line if you’re going to come along and I’ll add you to the list of blogs above.

Comments»

1. Zac Martin - November 9, 2008

Mr Gillespie,

It is with much regret that I inform you I will be unable to attend on what sounds to be a delightful evening, given a prior engagement I am unable to cancel.

But if you guys decide to hang around later, as in closer to midnight than 6pm, or kick on elsewhere later in the evening let me know. You (hopefully) have my number.

2. David Gillespie - November 9, 2008

Mr. Martin, so sorry to hear you won’t be joining us. Trust you will be busily preparing for exams, we look forward to your regular social schedule resuming once the semester is over.

3. A lesson in being remarkable from IDEO « Creative Is Not A Department - November 10, 2008

[…] forgot to say – found courtesy of FRANKthoughts’ Tamir, who will hopefully be Beersphering with us on […]

4. lucio ribeiro - November 10, 2008

Hi David,
Probably coming,
See you!
Lucio Ribeiro
marketingeasy.net

5. Stan Lee - November 10, 2008

I so want to be there but I am having something unpleasant and very expensive done to my gums at the dentist at 6pm. Best…Stan

6. David Gillespie - November 10, 2008

Lucio – looking forward to it.

Stan, sorry to hear you won’t make it, all the best in the chair!

7. talkingdigital - November 10, 2008

cheers for the invite but have a function with the fam … next time!

cheers, ben shep

8. Dave - November 11, 2008

Tamir and I will be over! Look forward to meeting you guys.

Cheers,
Dave

9. wonderwebby - November 11, 2008

Thanks for the invite! I will be monkey wrangling (three little ones), so can’t be there – but thanks again.

10. David Gillespie - November 11, 2008

No sweat Webby – Dave, looking forward to finally meeting up with you and Tamir!

11. Oolong - November 12, 2008

Sadly, I will be playing *indoor* beach volleyball in Oakleigh instead. Save the “eh”? for later.

Sounds like a great idea though. Wish I could be there.

12. Oolong - November 12, 2008

I mean “eh?”.

Bad grammar me.

13. Will Egan - November 13, 2008

Hi David,

I only found this post today when surfing the net. I am very interested in this kind of thing but am unable to come tonight. I am only new on the blogging space but want to learn.

How often do things like this come up?

Will 🙂

14. Steve Hopkins - November 13, 2008

Hey guys,

I won’t be there tonight…catch you soon.

15. Ross Hill - November 13, 2008

Sorry guys, I’m not in Melbourne tonight. I’d love to make it next time!

16. Dave - November 13, 2008

Sorry Tamir and I didn’t end up making it last night. Meeting with our client went way overtime past 7pm… so we ended up having a “beersphere” with them at our office. 🙂

Cheers,
Dave

17. David Gillespie - November 13, 2008

Oolong, sorry you couldn’t make it, same to you Steve, Ross and Dave – was particularly looking forward to meeting you and Tamir! Alas, next time!

Will – these things happen mainly just from time to time, but with increasing regularity. Check back regularly and you’ll be sure to know about anything coming up!

Thanks everyone for coming, we had a great time!

Cheers,

David

18. A lesson in being remarkable from IDEO | A WordPress Site - June 11, 2015

[…] forgot to say – found courtesy of FRANKthoughts’ Tamir, who will hopefully be Beersphering with us on […]


Leave a comment