jump to navigation

You light up my life like a polystyrene hat October 20, 2009

Posted by David Gillespie in advertising.
Tags: , , , ,
trackback

I give advertising a really hard time, partly because I work in it, and partly because it is a collection of some incredibly insightful and creative people who have chosen to try and sell more soup. I know soup needs to be sold, but I feel like after 8000 or so years of it, soup’s proposition is fairly well established.

Imagine my surprise when I found myself loving the below TED Talk from Rory Sutherland, Vice-Chairman and Executive Creative Director of Ogilvy UK. I originally found it via the newly-discovered (by me) brilliance of Simon Kemp, and after bristling self-righteously that someone would argue for perceived value instead of actual value, I found myself giggling at Rory and remarking to a friend how insightful he was; his delivery is so desperately English, I love it.

Watch and enjoy.

*Update* The afore-mentioned brilliant Simon Kemp is also sharp and posted a link to a Q&A done with Rory after the talk he gave.

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]

Comments»

1. eskimon - October 21, 2009

Hi David, thought you might be interested in the Q&A with Rory that accompanied this talk: http://blog.ted.com/2009/10/qa_with_rory_su.php Cheers!

2. David Gillespie - October 21, 2009

Nice one Simon! *click*

3. matt nelson - October 21, 2009

David – I think you’ve linked to a different Rory Gallagher 🙂

4. David Gillespie - October 21, 2009

How on Earth did I manage to put Rory Gallagher in there? I may as well have said Peter Green.

Time for a lie down I think…

5. http://wine101nc.com/?/member/40130 - November 22, 2012

Hey there! I know this is somewhat off topic but I was wondering if you knew where I could
get a captcha plugin for my comment form? I’m using the same blog platform as yours and I’m having
problems finding one? Thanks a lot!

6. Denice - December 19, 2012

I am continually invstigating online for tips that can assist me.
Thank you!


Leave a comment